Bugs Bunny

Bugs Bunny’s Vacation Funnies #2 (1952) is the glossiest book I’ve had to date, almost need shades to block the reflection. My old Man used to have a…

Crimes by Women

Crimes by Women #14  from Fox Feature Syndicate  is dated August 1950.   Pulp novel website Criminal Element has a tremendous write-up of the series, so no use in me repeating…

Cateen Kate

Canteen Kate #2 by publisher St. John is from August 1952. It’s generally prized due to having been created by Matt Baker from cover to cover.  The great…

Judy Canova

Much in the vein of My Friend Irma, Judy Canova wasn’t just a title of a comic book, but rather one part of a multi-media juggernaut that included…

Humphrey Comics

The wild success of Joe Palooka is already well documented.   Harvey, a publisher not to let an opportunity pass, spun off Joe’s sidekick Humphrey to his own title….

Ozzie and Babs

While I have been looking for an Ozzie and Babs #9 forever, I ran across Fawcett‘s  Ozzie and Babs #4 (September 1948).  It is a better than average…

New Funnies

Walter Lantz #250 (October 1949) feature the anthropomorphic-funny animal Woody Woodpecker playing golf. Before Woody would rise to the top of Walter Lantz’s cartoon empire, Andy served as the lead.  In…

Black Terror

Another Alex Schomburg (Xela signed) masterpiece – The Black Terror #23 (June 1948). Published by Standard Comics, The Black Terror first appeared in Exciting Comics #9 on May,…

Ella Cinders

Good ole’ St. John Publishing Co. squeezed out just three issues of Ella Cinderella (‘er, Cinders that is). Shown here is #3 and #4 from August and October…

America’s Greatest Comics

America’s Greatest Comics was Fawcett’s  response to D.C.’s success with World’s Finest Comics – a larger 100 page package which featured its stable of superhero characters. My copy of #5 ws published…